Your new design will be uploaded in:
Please contact Delivery Team on
0113 3200 750 if you have any queries.

Rotherham Road Red House Estate Sunderland, Tyne And Wear SR5 5QL

0191 548 8000

Our Nursery Curriculum

Statutory Requirements

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to 5 years old. All schools and Ofsted-registered early years providers must follow the EYFS, including childminders, preschools, nurseries and school reception classes. There are core documents produced nationally to support us in meeting the requirements. They are available to download below:

 Areas of learning

The curriculum covers the following areas:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development (PSE)
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

What does this look like at Hylton Red House Nursery School?

We use the EYFS to guide our planning for children across the 7 areas of learning.

Staff use support documents such as Birth to 5 Matters to help make assessment judgements against children's development. 

We assess children (with the help of families) to see what they can already do when they join us. We use this as a starting point for our planning. Our curriculum model is influenced and informed by early years research. We can best describe our curriculum as follows:

First Hand Experiences Survey

During Covid-19, children have not had a lot of opportunities to get out and about and explore our World. They have only been on the planet a short time and have spent most of that in and out of lockdown. We want to try to bring some of the missed experiences to the children and we wondered if we could have your thoughts on the matter.